Mommysaysbelovely’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How I Felt My Week Went January 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommysaysbelovely @ 2:07 am

 2 Corinthians 5:17 says: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

How I felt my week went:
1. 4 day school week helped, but getting back into the groove after Christmas break was rough.  Grouched at the girl, lectured her on the way to school.
2.  Got in 2 Zumba classes, wanted to do 3, but ….ahem.  Girl grounded from attending Y.  Yelled at said girl “GO TO YOUR ROOM”
3. Plans changed on me when I had my day planned one way…well you know how that just makes you easy to get along with.   who says I’m over committed?
4. Hubs had to work on Saturday…:(  Single parenting sucks.
5. Brodester getting sick again…after being well only 1 week. 😦 😦  ello Calgon!
6. Leading worship Sunday was amazing….”Behold our God, seated on the throne,  come let us adore HIM”, small groups with mind altering discussions and Chinese food 🙂
7.  read below

I couldn’t wait for Monday to watch read/hear more on gentleness b/c after the night I had last night…I was sure I wouldn’t feel one willy nilly like being gentle today.  Brody coughed the whole night.  THE WHOLE NIGHT!  I took him into the steamy bathroom twice, gave him sips of water.  I thought I would be exhausted and grouchy today.  But I wasn’t.  The Lord sustained me through morning routine with an 8 year old girl, Walmart trip, oops turn around cause I  missed a stop to return water bottles, doctors visit, 2 trips to the pharmacy, working from home, laundry, etc.
I didn’t even remember it was Monday until the kids were in bed and I got out the laptop and got really giddy~~~
A few things I took away from the video:
One of the girls said something about “recognize their talents”.  I need to be  mindful to do that.  Chloe craves encouragement and I always feel like I’m pointing out how she could do this better or that an easier way.

They talked about telling joy stories to your kids.  I want to slow down and give my kids something better to remember me by than just a monstrous lecturer.  I want them to see themselves making a difference in this world.  I want them to imagine themselves doing great feats for God.

A couple of quotes  Angela mentioned from Sally Clarkson’s book “as a parent our success is to raise children who love God and follow Him” &  “what He has  called us to do, He will give us the ability to complete”.  That last quote is a pearl of wisdom I need to share with my daughter!
I actually sat down tonight after the kids were in bed and didn’t feel wretched, like I’d ruined a little girl’s spirit by yelling, or rushing her off to bed, etc.  I’m not feeling proud…just thankful to God for making me mindful today.

Our Assignment for the week: I encourage you this week to smile more, hug more, SLOW DOWN, listen, take a deep breath.  When you feel like screaming – whisper.  Pray pray and then pray some more.  Take time to write out, meditate and memorize the 2 verses above, as you pursue gentleness.
Galatians 5:22,23 says: But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.


Please Lord help me to be mindful in my gentleness….

 

Leave a Reply

