Mommysaysbelovely’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gentleness Challenge January 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommysaysbelovely @ 2:24 am

A  Facebook friend posted this link today….it immediately caught my attention.  Gentleness.  I hopped on over to the blog and what I found there sucked me right in.  “It’s interesting to note that all of the fruit of the Spirit address this very issue – the fruit of the Spirit is: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control (Gal. 5:22).  When we walk in the Spirit – we will be gentle mothers.  But when we walk in the flesh – we lack all of these attributes.”

When I think of words to describe myself, gentleness is not in the top 5 (or 20).  It’s a word I use a lot when lecturing/praying/yelling at Chloe.  I urge her to be gentle and kind.  I in turn, need to show gentleness and kindness.  Ugh!  So hard for me.  Mother’s are supposed to be gentle!   Chloe brought to my attention that I’m more sympathetic with Brody than I am with her.  It’s easier to be gentle with a baby…but she’s right.  I need to slow down and be intentional.

Thoughts from the first video:

“The kindness of the Lord leads to repentance” Romans
“Sometimes we feel that we need to play the role of the Holy Spirit in our childrens lives and impose great guilt on them so they will be hesitant to sin anymore.”  SHOCKING, but so true.  And admitting this stings.
Leave room for GOD to get in there and do His job.  Learning a balance.  Childrens hearts withering away…not connecting.
Lastly, Loving and leading them to God but being in authority over them.

Great stuff in this 10 minute video.  Makes me very interested in this Sally Clarkson book Ministry of Motherhood from which these videos were taken….may have to check her out!

 

Leave a Reply

