Mommysaysbelovely’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

But wait, there’s more!!!! September 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mommysaysbelovely @ 11:58 pm

The underground house church is just amazing to me.  I know there is never a time when I wanted someone to teach me for 8 hours straight.  (especially old testament!!!) 

I want to go to a Secret Church, to fall on my knees and not worry about critical stares, to really “mean” it, feel God move…

I want to hunger more for the Word.  I want to crave it like I crave McDonald’s Coke.

I know I’m saved but hate when something causes me to doubt..then i say to myself, am I really???!!!  stop it!  “…when we add a superstitious prayer, a subsequent dose of church attendance, and obedience to some of the Bible, we feel pretty sure that we will be all right in the end.”  pretty much!  BUT WAIT, there’s more…. we can’t produce or program salvation.   The beauty of the gospel is He has to open our eyes and hearts! 

“All of God’s holy wrath and hatred toward sin and sinners, stored up since the beginning of gthe world, is about to be poured out on him, and he is sweating blood at the thought of it.” 

I remember laying in bed at night thinking “how does Jesus dying on the cross make me get into heaven?”  I couldn’t put it together in my mind how that had anything to do with my eternal destiny.  I grew up in a christian home and was told that Jesus died on the cross so I could be saved.  But why?   Why just tell people that and not the whole story.  The contemporary christianity sales pitch.  I needed to hear that “the righteous wrath and justice of God due us” came down on Christ. 

I accepted Christ at a very young age.  Did I feel I needed Him?  Really, I just didn’t want to go to hell!  He is worthy of my total surrender!  I was saved to know God.  That’s a new one too!  I have never had to risk my life to learn or hear about Him. 

I want to recover a passion for the Word and to long for Him.  I want that reward.

 

2 Responses to “But wait, there’s more!!!!”

  1. zjiff30 Says:

    This is great stuff. I’ve been thinking about this a lot over the last couple weeks. I speak every week to K-2nd graders at church, and I’m trying to grasp how I can explain to these kids about their desperate sinful condition and utter need of a Savior without terrifying them. I’m glad to know others are thinking the same things.

  2. Missy Says:

    I believe that when children choose Christ, He accepts them based on their understanding and maturity, ie: accountability. Surely a child cannot be accountable to understand the propitiation made when Christ took God’s wrath. However, the child can understand that their insides (heart) is dirty and only God can clean it. With such simple faith many begin their journey with Christ and “work out their salvation” as they mature in body, mind and spirit.


Leave a Reply

